Transfer Admissions & Advising Committee

Bridging the knowledge gap between two and four year schools

Transfer Process through a Transfer Student

Leave a comment

Since a lot of the focus has been on our Transfer Conference coming up in just 40 days (March 19th—mark your calendars!) I figured I would switch directions and put up another “through the eyes of a transfer student” post. Since every school, agreement, and student is different, these are important to keep looking at and evaluating. This student, Carlos Contente, take a very different approach from our first student Zachary Kunkel.

When did the transfer process start for you?

–          For me, the transfer process began in the Fall Semester of my sophomore year of college. Because Manor is a two year institution, I knew that I was going to have to find somewhere to transfer to so as to continue on the path to my Bachelor’s degree. Manor has Dual Admission agreement with several four-year universities, but I did not give much thought to those agreements. I feel like they would have left me with limited options.

How did the transfer process start for you?

–          There were many students at my previous school who had their hearts set on certain colleges and were determined to transfer to that particular institution. Although in the beginning I had wanted to go to Gettysburg College, I soon changed my mind and was only looking at colleges in the immediate Philadelphia area. In all honesty, it began by pulling colleges in the area from my mind. I also filed the Common Application and submitted it to several institutions. Then I planned to make a decision based on transfer credits and financial aid packages.

How (if at all) did Manor’s articulation agreements play a part in your college search?

–          Many students at Manor took advantage of these agreements, but as aforementioned, I felt as though they would lock me into a decision without much wiggle room. Therefore, I decided not to sign one of the articulation agreements.

What was the best part of the transfer process?

–          Without a doubt, the best part was when I sent the confirmation deposit into the school I now attend. The work at Manor had paid off and it was extremely comforting to put the anxiety of transferring behind me and have a decision made in time for graduation.

What was the hardest part of the transfer process?

–          Filling out the applications were brutal, except the Common Application because the information on that rolls over from one school to another. Also the perpetual phone calls and postcards. It just got a tad bit annoying after a while, but the applications were by the far the worst part of the process.

What was the most important factor in your decision?

–          I intended to transfer to a university in the immediate Philadelphia area so as to be able to commute from home. It was also important to me that the institution be Catholic. I mean, Catholic education had not failed me yet, so I was not about to jump ship. Anyway, the two main factors were transfer credits and financial aid packages. I did not want to take something over again and I definitely did not want to be shelling out an inordinate amount of money to study.

After you visited and were accepted to a few schools, what was your process then?

–          This may be unusual, but I did not visit any of the schools. I did meet with an admissions counselor at one school and the counselor evaluated my credits. Not enough of them transferred, so that really put an end to that venture right then and there. Otherwise, I did not visit the schools and made the decision based off the information they provided me in my acceptance package. Which is fine, because it’s not the fancy buildings or pretty quad that make an institution valuable.

Any additional thoughts?

–          Transferring can be a rather stressful process, especially for students who have developed strong ties at their junior college. However, it all works out for the best in the end.

 

So as you can see, Carlos didn’t utilize the articulation agreements or even visit the schools. This seems to be a unique approach, but as he stated, it was going to be the education that pulled him in, not the scenery. Even though this was a different and less followed path, he seems to be quite happy with his choice and wouldn’t change anything about it.

Leave a Reply

